Knock on the door and let DEEP SEA ARCADE take you to the OUTLANDS, a dark, cinematic world where kaleidoscopic pop songs illuminate the landscape. Paying homage to experimental cinema and the dystopian sci-fi films of the 60s, the Sydney five-piece will take you on a journey through some bold terrain with their debut album OUTLANDS. read more »

Some years in the making, OUTLANDS is the culmination of a long friendship between songwriters Nic Mckenzie and Nick Weaver. Frontman Mckenzie and bassist Weaver have been playing music together since their mid-teens, and the pair recruited drummer Carlos Adura and guitarists Simon Relf and Tim Chamberlain to round out the band a few years back.

“Carlos is a long-time friend and was an obvious choice of drummer and mascot,” explains Mckenzie. “If we were the Ninja Turtles he would be Splinter. Simon Relf and Nick Weaver met when they were hired as members of a one-time house band for a party in a Country Women’s Association Hall on the New South Wales south coast. Tim was spotted playing creepy reverb guitars in another band and was promptly stolen.”

Initially using four-track tape recorders, broadcast microphones and unconventional computer programs to create songs in their bedrooms, Mckenzie and Weaver were able to see their music fully realised with the additional band members giving the songs the depth and energy they deserved. Since then, DEEP SEA ARCADE have toured with the likes of Noel Gallagher, Modest Mouse and Washington, played the Primavera Festival in Spain, The Great Escape in Brighton UK and had tracks receive high rotation airplay both in Australia and abroad by stations including BBC Radio 1 and triple j.

“Every one of the 12 tracks here has something to love about it”
– The Australian, 4 .5 Stars

“Immaculately produced, it’s difficult not to want to fall into Outlands’ effortlessly manipulative arms.” – The Brag, 4 stars

“A record brimming with glorious ideas, attention demanding melodies and hits” – Fasterlouder

“Sterling arrangements and a shuffling sureness” – Mess + Noise